Homepage(2) [deutsch] [français]

page from the diary

Diary 15.5.1943-6.6.1944

In spring 2002 I bought on a flea market in the Rheinauen near Bonn -probably from an estate- for 0,50&euro an old diary, which I now make accessible here in electronic form. It's of course in german and I don't have the time and the capability to translate all the 4000 lines into english. (If someone could do this, I would appreciate it.)

Thanks to several informations, I got from other people, meanwhile I know the author of the text, although there is no name in it. It was the teacher Werner Treins, 30 years old at the begin of the text, He got wounded in 1943 near Sevastopol. The diary begins with a leave at home in Glees (near Bonn, west germany), and ends in a military hospital in Dubrovnik (called Ragusa in the diary) at the day of the invasion of the allies in the Normandie. At the end o the text I added some biographical information.

The author was ardent national socialist to the end, so some parts of the text nowadays seem a bit strange. Nevertheless I give the text unabridged and uncensored, so that everyone can get his own idea of it. (But in total the text is rather inoffensif.)

There were some words, I couldn't read. Those words are marked in the text. Further information about this can be found at the beginning of the text itself. Fortunately the author came from the region around Bonn, otherwise there would have been some more names of towns and villages, which I couldn't have made out. The picture on the right shows a typical page of the diary, written in small letters with a thin pencil.

tagebuch43-44.txt (229K)



Homepage(2) by Michael Becker, 6/2002. Last modification: 3/2005.

Homepage(2) [english] [français]

Seite aus dem Tagebuch

Tagebuch 15.5.1943-6.6.1944

Im Frühling 2002 habe ich auf einem Trödelmark in den Rheinauen bei Bonn -vermutlich aus einem Nachlaß- für 0,50€ ein altes Tagebuch erstanden, welches ich hier in elektronischer Form zugänglich mache.

Dank diverser Informationen, die mir Mitmenschen zugesandt haben, weiß ich inzwischen, wer der Verfasser des Tagebuchs ist, obwohl kein Name darin steht. Es handelt sich um den zu Beginn der Aufzeichnungen 30jährigen Lehrer Werner Treins, der 1943 bei Sevastopol verwundet wurde. Das Tagebuch fängt mit dem Erholungsurlaub zu Hause in Glees an und endet im Lazarett in Dubrovnik (im Tagebuch Ragusa genannt) am Tag der Invasion der Alliierten in der Normandie. Am Ende des Tagebuchs habe ich kurze biographische Informatioen beigefügt.

Er war is zum Ende überzeugter Nationalsozialist, weshalb der Text an einigen Stellen etwas befremdlich wirkt. Dennoch habe ich ihn hier ungekürzt und unzensiert veröffentlicht, so daß sich jeder selber ein Bild machen kann. (Insgesamt ist der Text aber eher harmlos.)

Einige Wörter konnte ich nicht entziffern. Diese habe ich im Text gekennzeichnet. Nähere Informationen dazu findet man am Beginn des Textes selber. Glücklicherweise kam der Verfasser aus der Bonner Gegend selber, ansonsten hätte ich noch einige weitere Ortsnamen nicht lesen können. Das Bild rechts zeigt eine typische Seite aus dem in kleiner Schrift mit dünnem Bleistift geschriebenen Tagebuch.

Falls jemand Lust und Zeit hat, den Text ins Englische oder Französische zu übersetzen - ich würde ihn auch gerne in diesen Sprachen zur Verfügung stellen...

tagebuch43-44.txt (229K)



Homepage(2) by Michael Becker, 6/2002. Letzte Änderung: 3/2005.