Homepage(2) [deutsch] [français]

Photo essay 2. world war

In a time, where most people have never experienced a war personally, an in which even politicians, who claim to be pacifists, declare war to be the last, but legitimate means to accomplish political goals, and in which the news show carpet bombing, but no corpses, it seems appropriate to remind of what war is and what is means for the persons concerned.

That's why I've browsed a bit through our photo album an put up a little photographic essay about my grandfather (who was born the 15.3.1906) in the 2. World War. Except for the the existence of this index, the essay is strictly linear. One can start with the first picture and then click forward til the last picture (for example by clicking on the picture).

Taking pictures without autorization was forbidden in the war, but his superiors tolerated it. However he couldn't send the full films back or receive new films with the field post. Comrades, who journeyed back to germany, took the films with them, handed them over and brought new films. Without all those this essay wouldn't exist.

Warning: Children under 18 years and sensitive persons should NOT READ this essay.

The Copyright © for all pictures is by my family.


Homepage(2) by Michael Becker, 1/2002. Last modification: 12/2002.

Homepage(2) [english] [français]

Fotoessay 2. Weltkrieg

In einer Zeit, in der viele nie persönlich einen Krieg erlebt haben, und in der Politker, die von sich behaupten, pazifistisch zu sein, sagen, daß Krieg ein legitimes, wenn auch das letzte, Mittel zur Durchsetzung politischer Ziele, ist, und in der man in den Nachrichten sauber gelegte Bombenteppiche sieht, aber keine Toten, scheint es angebracht, daran zu erinnern, was Krieg überhaupt ist und was er für die Betroffenen bedeutet.

Deshalb habe ich ein wenig in unserem Photo-Album geschmökert und einen kleinen photographischen Essay über meinen Großvater (geb. am 15.3.1906) im 2. Weltkrieg zusammengestellt. Abgesehen davon, daß es diesen Index gibt, ist der Essay völlig linear aufgebaut. Am besten fängt man beim ersten Bild an und klickt sich dann bis zum letzten Bild "weiter".

Das Fotografieren im Krieg war eigentlich verboten. Die Vorgesetzten meines Großvaters tolerierten das aber. Allerdings konnte er die Filme nicht mit der Feldpost nach Hause schicken. Kameraden, die Fronturlaub hatten, nahmen sie mit, gaben sie ab, und brachten auch neue Filme. Ohne sie alle wäre dieser Essay nicht möglich gewesen.

Warnung: Kinder unter 18 Jahren und sensible Personen sollten sich diesen Essay NICHT ANSCHAUEN.

Das Copyright © für die Bilder liegt bei meiner Familie.


Homepage(2) by Michael Becker, 1/2002. Letzte Änderung: 12/2002.